Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

When I Woke Up This Morning

In Uncategorized on January 10, 2017 at 7:47 pm

cell-phone

I hear the flick of a switch and my eyelids turn red.  I hear roommates turning and jumping out of bed.  “Is it the time?” I ask myself.  I open my eyes, see the usual checkered pattern of sound-absorbent ceiling tiles and fluorescent lights behind frosted glass.  I take out my Obamaphone, a small cell phone issued by the government free of charge to the poor, and look at the screen.  “It’s the time.”  I hear roommates sighing and turning; roommates purposefully and efficiently getting themselves in order (early birds, farmers, military veteran types); roommates slowly and sloppily getting out of bed (night owls, city slickers, the tired and the weary, the rest of us).

I look at my phone fifteen minutes later.  “*Now*’s the time.  Rise and shine, soldier.  Another day that God has made.”  I don’t dwell on having to get up at such an early hour, to a cold room and crowded bathroom.  I don’t try to form thoughts, opinions; it’s too early for that.  I could sing “Oh, How I Hate To Get Up In the Morning”, an Irving Berlin song from World War I, but it will contribute nothing useful.  I prefer “Yes, We Have No Bananas” at breakfast.

I change into day underwear, move the grey military-style blanket and white sheet aside, put on two pairs of socks, pants, get out of my brown military-style bed, sliding directly into my boots.  (I like boots.  Show me your boots, and I’ll tell you who you are.)  I pass other beds, enter the bathroom.  You don’t have the security clearance to hear more.

Andre P.

Leave a Reply

