Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

INSOMNIA #2

In Uncategorized on September 22, 2016 at 6:09 pm

 

insomnia-2

                     

 

I lie awake at night

Amazed at how quickly deep dark begets the daylight

 

I lie awake at night

Unimpressed by headlight flashes that give false pretense to the moon

 

I lie awake at night

Waiting for tree branch shadows to reach down from the ceiling to caress me

 

I lie awake at night

And cower as the tree incarnate beats fiercely against vinyl siding

 

I lie awake at night

Because I am too cold to be comfortable, but too warm to wander

From beneath one blanket in search of another

 

I lie awake at night

And think about when I didn’t do so alone

We’d chat or brood, but together

 

OR

 

I would lie awake at night

Annoyed by your snores

Or being drenched by your sweat

 

AND

 

I would lie awake at night

Concocting methods and devices to make your passing seem natural

 

So now…

 

I lie awake at night

And marvel at how slyly slick darkness creeps into bright light

 

and

 

I lie awake at night

 

and then

 

I lay alone in morning

Knowing that we are all better off this way.

 

-Stephanie Lawal

Leave a Reply

