Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

AWAKENING

In Poetry on July 28, 2016 at 1:54 pm

 

Books

 

I was a kid

When I discovered books,

But I was frightened

Of becoming a sissy,

So I played basketball

And baseball until

I was one of the best

In my small school

In Jamaica Estates,

And I read sports books.

 

When I realized

Being the best

In your neighborhood

Didn’t compare

To being the best

In all the neighborhoods

That make up

New York City,

I stared reading

More serious books.

 

I read Kafka, Stendhal,

Camus, and T.S. Eliot,

And others I forget.

Then I went to college,

Majoring in English.

I drank a lot in college,

But I drank more

In graduate school,

Probably why I never

Finished my degree

In Creative Writing.

 

When I was in high school,

I read The Stranger,

But it wasn’t until

My mother died

That I became Meursault,

Though I used to accuse

My father of being him.

I became Meursault

Because years later

I couldn’t remember the day

My mother died.

 

Yes, I’ve read a lot

Of books over the years,

Becoming characters

In each one of them,

So with all these men

And women I’ve become,

I’ve found solace in books,

Friends, city, country,

Despite feeling betrayed

By it from time to time,

But most important of all,

From my dependence on books,

I’ve found a reason to live.

-Michael LaBombarda

Leave a Reply

