Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Cute as a Button

In Love, Poetry on July 14, 2016 at 5:24 pm

buttons

 

Found a button

On the sidewalk

On and on I went and wondered

Do I come back and pick up that cute button?

 

 

Found such a cute button

On the sidewalk, standing on the bread line

Round and round I went

 

 

Tomorrow I will look for that button again

Hopefully she will be there

On that line on that sidewalk

Under the looming shadow of the church steeple

God Almighty, please find her there

Hoping she will see me there

That cute as a button and finding her way into my hand I hope.

-Michael Welch

Leave a Reply

