Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

I Remember

In memoir, Poetry on June 9, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Food for the soul pinto

I remember kitchens and privacy

I remember having furniture

I remember having a place with walls so think you couldn’t

hear the neighbors arguing next door.

 

I remember driving

the open freedom of the road

being able to go where you want when you want

and not having to shell out $438 to UPS to ship your

stuff instead of transporting it for much less in the car.

 

I remember owning a car, $2 a gallon gas,

registration and insurance not costing more than the car itself.

 

I remember the freedom

driving from New York to Colorado

or San Antonio to New Mexico

or LA to Louisville

 

I remember that getting a job was easier when you had a car

or an apartment that was affordable.

 

That was so long ago.

-Thomas Clarke

Leave a Reply

