Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Room by Thomas Clarke

In memoir, Prose on May 1, 2015 at 3:03 pm

As I entered what used to be my old bedroom, I noticed the changes. The yellow walls were painted blue, and the once lush 70s style gold carpeting had been stripped out in favor of generic cheap hardwood flooring. The sloping ceiling was still present, but what used to be endlessly tall and sloping now felt suffocating. And what seemed to be a big room now felt claustrophobic. I never felt much at home in the years I lived in that house, but 5 years after I moved out and 3 months after my dying father sold the house to my aunt, she made enough changes to make a house that had been in the family for 38 years seem like another house that was fixed up and renovated for another quick sale.

Leave a Reply

