Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Clothing by Thomas Clarke

In Poetry on April 9, 2015 at 9:18 am

I never cared for fashion as a kid

Never fell for the parachute pants or the sneakers that cost 1- months worth of allowance at the store

As I grew older, I found a more useful shirt to keep warm from the cold winters

Not sure if it really was a shirt or a jacket with buttons

Not sure if it was flannel or plaid or cotton on steroids

My Godmother gave me one for Christmas to prepare for those Chicago winters

But I ended up back in Brooklyn instead

11 years later I still have that winter shirt

But the buttons are coming out

And the temperatures keep falling

And I wouldn’t know what to ask for at the department store if I could afford to replace it

But for now it’s still wearable and still sufficient for a NY winter

Leave a Reply

