Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

On Achieving Section 8 Housing

In Keeping hope alive, Poetry, Soup Kitchen Stories on December 24, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Poinsettia_thumbnail

On Achieving Section 8 Housing
by Norman Clayton

Three-thirty p.m. a balmy March first
Bring in pale squared sunlight against
My east wall.

My once ailing poinsettia is thriving.
It now seems more pink than red.
It is below the sunlight
Yet it glows like a cherry salesman
In my all white room.

Part of me says
It will at the very least
In a few months turn green
Like all the other plants.

But not the best part of me.
The best part of me
Wants it to keep its cheery glow.
March, it has been 29 years
Since my first breakdown

March, march march march
The world is good.

Leave a Reply

