Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

A Food I Cannot Get Anymore

In Stories, secrets & dreams on August 21, 2014 at 3:15 pm

italian rolls

I can’t get Italian rolls.

Years ago when I was young, I remember in Greenwich Village, there was a real Italian bakery on Carmine Street which was owned and operated by real Italians (with accents, and born and raised in the old country.)

Each morning as I walked down the street, I could smell the bread and other bakery goods from at least two blocks before the shop. Heaven must smell like that. Sweet homemade bread, rolls and other Italian specialities wafted through the streets of downtown New York, calling all residents, friends and neighbors to the shop.

I wish I could remember the name of the owners who might have opened another bakery elsewhere. Maybe they went back to Italy.

Joe Negrelli

Leave a Reply

