Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

September 11, 2001

In Friendship, Guest stories, Keeping hope alive, Prose, The worst of times on August 11, 2014 at 3:14 pm

366_1firemen_photo_best_1a

Some day I’ll write of seeing thousands of bodies going up in pillars of white smoke, how the smell of death went on for weeks.

I want to write a former sister-in-law in England and say, “For a moment, I had a glimmer of what you lived through in the London Blitz.” But I couldn’t write that.

I sent my former husband a postcard of the Twin Towers and said, “Where you worked and the business life you once knew is no more. ” He wrote back, “I’m just glad you’re alive.”

Nine-eleven is like the day Kennedy was shot. You remember where you were, but you put the pain away.

-Carol West

May 8, 2002

Leave a Reply

