Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

A True Story

In Friendship, humor, Uncategorized on August 9, 2014 at 5:03 pm

homeless-charityThe homeless man was “on”. Jumping up and down, bobbing, weaving, smiling, shouting, smelly, and sweating. “Please,” he cried. “Give me a dollar. Pleeeease, I need a dollar,” he said to everyone who walked by. He was adamant.

I don’t know why, I stopped. Not that I had a dollar to give him but I asked, “Why do you want a dollar?” Still smiling and in my face, he shouted, “I need a dollar to get married.”

I made a decision and gave him my change, (not a dollar). “This is so you won’t get married,” I shouted as I walked away. “It will cost you too much to get single again.”

He laughed as he collected a new dollar from the next passerby. No questions asked.

-Carol West

Leave a Reply

