Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Forget the Past

In Keeping hope alive on April 3, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Image

Forget the Past, Part 2

In this world, I am getting older. I don’t have my own family to cheer me through. Soon I have to be looking for an apartment to live in. Good help is hard to find. Just a few friends. I am just wondering if one of my friends is going to be my roommate. I told him that I have packed some of my things into boxes, not to wait until the last minute. I am not sure where my next apartment will be. It is a scary feeling to have on my shoulder, to carry on. Time I don’t have, just hope for the future. I hope that this friend of mine understands my problem. I couldn’t do this on my own – to duck my past-history problems. I am not sure what that’s about. Just survive.

I always have things to say that no one hears. Frustrated – yes, I am. Not sure that getting old is a wise things. To have it – to use it, that’s a different story. To duck from the trouble of people that much I did. To use wisely. I am not sure how to use it. Just feeling. All my life I always ducked from the problem people. I hope my new place is newborn of my problem of life.

I also hope I made peace with my own troubles sometimes. In the past a picture frame fell on my nose. It is too late to duck.

Each day I live, I am alive and ticking. To duck if there is a fire or smoke, I have never had that experience, to save someone. I am not sure where to start, but I always go there. To get help is not easy for me. Someone is out there to attack you. The alone thing for me always said, “Duck! And run for your life. Go forward, don’t look back on your own history!”

 by Leucio Parrella

  1. […] You can read a poem by Leucio in Food for the Soul: Selections from the Holy Apostles Writers Workshop (available on Amazon) as well as several pieces on our blog. […]

Leave a Reply

