Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Wilfred’s Story

In Guest stories, Soup Kitchen Stories on April 2, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Image

Wilfred first came here 15 years ago, and while his life has changed immensely in the past 15 years, he continues to come back. “I was surprised by how many people come here, yet I still felt welcome. And the food is good – there’s a lot of variety,” Wilfred shares.

Wilfred is now living in a section 8 apartment in midtown, and is grateful to have his own place.

“Holy Apostles has been here for me throughout the years. I was homeless for many years, and Holy Apostles got me off the street,” Wilfred says.

Not only has Wilfred’s housing situation changed for the better but he’s also found work, as an usher at a movie theater. “I like my job. I get to see a lot of movies free when I get out of work,” Wilfred says excitedly.

Despite finding employment, Wilfred continues to come to Holy Apostles. “I look forward to the days I’m off work and can come eat at Holy Apostles. I don’t just come for the food. I come here for the comfort,” he says. “Holy Apostles is my spiritual food and my physical food, it’s a package deal. Coming here keeps my spirits up when I’m down. Holy Apostles has been a great help in my life.”

Leave a Reply

