Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Daniel’s Story

In Soup Kitchen Stories on March 17, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Image

When Daniel first came to the soup kitchen, he was an employee at KPMG, and came as a part of the monthly KPMG volunteer group. “I really liked it at Holy Apostles, and I knew I wanted to come back. I was impressed by how many meals are served each day, and how smooth of an operation it is. It’s a really nice environment here,” Daniel says.

Soon later, Daniel quit his job at KPMG. “After quitting my job, I knew I wanted to help homeless people. I helped out by collecting food from the KPMG building to give to homeless people around Union Square. But I wanted to do more,” Daniel says.

Then, he went to a Flaming Lips show with his friends, where he saw Susan Sarandon. “She’s a big supporter of Holy Apostles, and seeing her inspired me to come back and volunteer again,” Daniel shares.

Not only did Daniel come back and volunteer here again but he started coming here and volunteering every weekday.

Volunteering here ended up being what Daniel needed to feel happy and fulfilled. “The soup kitchen is a great reason to get up in the morning, and it makes me feel like I’m doing something valuable with my time. I can interact with the guests, and that’s important to me. The people here are really great,” Daniel says.

So what’s next for Daniel? “Ultimately, I want to increase awareness about poverty, and also empower people who feel they’re trapped at work. There are people everywhere facing similar issues. It’s given me a lot of perspective,” Daniel says.

“I’ve been a lot happier since quitting my job,” Daniel says. “I’m so grateful for the freedom I have. It’s a tremendous opportunity. I feel really lucky to be able to come here and volunteer every day.”

Leave a Reply

