Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Erin’s Story

In Guest stories, Soup Kitchen Stories on March 12, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Image

Erin first came to Holy Apostles in 2012, when she fell upon tough times. “At that point in my life, I was feeling really bitter, rejected, and lonely,” Erin shared. “But I felt really embraced by Holy Apostles. Everyone welcomed me as a stranger, and there is always a hot meal available here. The food here is great.”

While Erin came here for the food, she was drawn in by the community. “Holy Apostles helps in more ways than offering food. It’s a place where I feel resilient and grateful. It’s really helped me a lot,” Erin says. “Coming here helped me to understand that others are going through similar situations. Having the chance to talk about my life and hear from others really helped me cool down from my anger and relax.”

Despite the challenging situation Erin faced, she felt drawn to give back to those around her. She volunteers her time at another church in the city and makes an effort to help others in need. “I do what I can to give back. If I see someone in need, I try to feed them or I help by giving them information and resources,” Erin shares. “I know what it’s like to be in desperate circumstances, and I do what I can to be there for people who need help.”

She views giving back as an opportunity to show her appreciation for those who have helped her in her journey.

“I’m doing a lot better now than I was before, so I don’t come here often now,” Erin shares. “I’m so thankful to everyone who’s helped me. The people who donate and volunteer here, they really saved my life.”

  1. Thank you for this story. I appreciate your ministry at the kitchen and here on these pages. Raising consciousness is so important.

Leave a Reply

