Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Andrew’s Story

In Guest stories, Soup Kitchen Stories on February 5, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Image

Andrew, 24, has been homeless since he was 3 years old. His grandmother, one of the only positive influences in his life, passed away when he was just 18 years old.

“When my grandmother died, I lost all hope,” Andrew says. “I came to New York City homeless, depressed, and not knowing where to turn. I’m so grateful that I found Holy Apostles.”

Andrew recently got out of 45 days in prison, and is ready to get back on his feet.

“It’s rough in jail, there’s a lot of fighting going on. It was a really bad experience but I was able to be a positive role model for other people,” Andrew says. “It helped me to put things in perspective. I’m ready to get my life back together.”

With our help, Andrew has been proactive about taking steps toward independence, and has remained hopeful about the future. “Holy Apostles helped me to get an ID card and Social Security card,” Andrew says, gratefully. “I’m not just a homeless guy on the street. I spend most of my time working to get back on my feet.”

Andrew has continued to come here over the years because he loves the community. “I really like it here. If Holy Apostles wasn’t here for me, I don’t know where I would go,” Andrew says.

Leave a Reply

