Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

My life in a notebook

In Guest stories, Stories, secrets & dreams on September 18, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Image

If I had to do it all over again, I’d pay more attention to my education and learning. I would have listened to my freshman algebra teacher Mr. Church’s advice and gone to college. I wouldn’t have let things bother me so much, obsessing over them for decades.

I would have taken the job offered at Goldwater in ’64 headquarters and met Rich. I’d have listened to my inner voice and taken opportunities, living in Portugal for six months or indefinitely in Greece. I’d have drunk my way through France.

I’d have never gotten married, or then I’d have listened to my grandmother, who a month before my wedding tried to tell me I didn’t have to wed. Barring that, upon returning from the honeymoon, I’d have gotten a divorce and run like hell to California.

I’d have lived life more fully, saved money, flown first class more often, taken more chances. I’d have listened more, talked less, and loved more greatly.

I’d have written about my life in a notebook and become a writer sooner. I never knew my writing was my magic.

By Carol West

Leave a Reply

