Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Our Family Tradition

In Guest stories on June 1, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Image

The family tradition that stands out in my mind from my growing-up years is not attached to a holiday. It was Sunday. I was raised in a Christian home and Saturday night was all about getting ready for Sunday. We were a churchgoing family and I attended Sunday school, where my father was the superintendent and my mother a teacher. I remember her getting my clothes ready for Sunday, setting my hair in bobby pins and putting me under a bonnet hair dryer. She would then do her own hair and nails. My dad would get his suit ready, shine his shoes, and look over all the lessons of all levels of the Sunday school in case a teacher did not show up and he had to teach a class at the last minute. Then he would go over my lesson with me to make sure I had it correct. This went on for years, until I was old enough to do my own hair and no longer needed my lessons checked.

After church, the rest of Sunday was a leisurely day, usually an outing when it was sunny. Sunday night was quiet also – a simple supper to give Mom a break on cooking, and then we would watch Lassie or The Twilight Zone, then Ed Sullivan. This may sound like a very boring time, not exciting at all, but I don’t feel that way. The memory is a fond one. My father died when I was 16 and I am very glad to have this memory of a family tradition.

By Lois Skaretka

Leave a Reply

