Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

The Best Winter Day

In Stories, secrets & dreams on January 31, 2013 at 5:56 pm

centralParkBowBridgeInSnow

It was a cold snowy day in February. I was not working at the time. I read in the newspaper that the Metropolitan Museum of Art in Manhattan was having a fre lecture on Polynesian art. I have always had a fascination for primitive art because I am an artist myself.  I enjoy the connection with spirituality and nature that many primitive tribes display in their artwork. It fascinates me that these people with no formal education or tools were able to create such beautiful objects. So, I hopped on a subway to attend the early morning lecture at the Met.

It turned out to be a lovely tour and lecture in the Oceania Room at the museum. Our tour guide kept us interested with anecdotes about the different tribes and their works of art. One of the most horrible stories he told us was about the disappearance of Michael Rockefeller while on an expedition to an island to collect Polynesian art. To this day, no one is certain of what happened to him. He may have died in an accident, or in a flood, but no one has ever seen him again.

The best part of the day was when I left the museum. The snow had stopped, and Central Park was covered in a blanket of white. Hundreds of birds were singing. I went into the park and slid down one of the hills. Of all my winter days in New York, it was my best of all.

Ronnie Eisen

Leave a Reply

