Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

If I Had to Leave Tomorrow

In Stories, secrets & dreams on December 18, 2012 at 4:34 pm

maps

If I had to leave tomorrow it would be very easy. All that I’ve held dear has been sold, given away, or shredded. I’ve learned to live without them, my possessions.

Small coffee table knick-knacks, mementos collected from worldwide trips to Hong Kong, Europe and across America, have been given away as gifts. Jewelry was traded at a pawnshop to pay rent. Antique furniture from flea markets and from family was sold to live.

As life goes on you need less, want less, expect less, ask less. Letting go of little parts of me felt like death. But the best is left – memories, the way I want to remember, the only possession I’ll never lose.

Carol West

Leave a Reply

