Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Hurricane Sandy

In Guest stories on November 8, 2012 at 9:41 pm

sandy-taxis_2382867b

Of all the days a storm should hit, it hit on a Sunday. Everybody was worried about the outcome – for me it was just another day. Before Sunday I had started  to downsize on my stuff. Not because of the hurricane, but because it was getting heavy to carry around all that stuff in my cart. Oh, I forgot to introduce myself. My name is George, and I’m a person without a home. So when the storm hit, I would have been happy in some way not to lose much in the sense of material things.

I had enough to eat, lots of water, and a warm coat. That Sunday at about 7pm I started saying, “no big deal, I’ll ride this one out like I did the others.” A group of us were congregated in an office building on 37th Street. We were there when the rain started to fall, until security advised us to leave, fearing the windows would fall out and some of us would get hurt. Around 10pm we started for another place. When we got there the place was jammed with people looking for somewhere to stay, so we had to find another place. Let me tell you…life on the street isn’t easy. You have to remember when you see a place during your daily walks, and refer to it when you need it. I had seen somewhere near MOMA, and thought it would be an excellent place to stay sometime – not necessarily for the storm, but somewhere to have a night’s rest.

So we ended up there late Sunday until about 7am Monday morning. McDonalds and Burger King were closed because of the storm, so we had no coffee. We did without it and ate some cold pizza that a tourist had given us. They were staying around the corner at the Hilton hotel. Then the wind started, and the rain, so up until Monday night we had nothing to eat until a lady came by with some sandwiches. She lived on 51st and was looking out her windows and saw us, and decided to be neighbourly.

This was one of the worst experiences so far that I have experienced on the street. That’s my account of Hurricane Sandy.

George Cousins

Leave a Reply

