Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Someone Fell Down

In Poetry on October 19, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Someone fell down, so I made a mistake.

I thought he was a giant, a paragon, an idol

Turns out that he’s just a man like me.

Somebody fell down, so I made a mistake.

I thought he was smart

(Or at least knew the difference between real and fake art)

I thought that he was striving to be

An untrainable animal, running with an energy that’s abandoned

So I made a mistake.

I now see other people and someone fell down and now they are

Birds of a feather and they all flock together

So I made a mistake, it’s not that bad, for heaven’s sake

I thought he was an untrainable animal who would never fall down

So I made a mistake, I am only human, for heaven’s sake

But there are also others who, like me, have feathers, just like me

And we all say, So we made a mistake.

Jay Stafford Perry

Leave a Reply

