Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

My Hidden Talent

In Stories, secrets & dreams on August 29, 2012 at 8:29 pm

My hidden talent began on my travels to a city in northern Spain off the coast of the Bay of Biscay called San Sebastian. Its original Basque name was Denostia. It is one of the most beautiful cities in all of Spain if not Europe. They say if Brigitte Bardot could create a city, it would be San Sebastian, with it’s amazing beaches and mountains.

Enthralled by the Spanish aroma of the city with its cooking, bull fights, and of course, the Spanish Masters such as El Greco, Velasquez, and Picasso, I took my pencil and pad by the beach and began to draw. I wanted to capture the beautiful people ans the church on the mountain. While sketching the people, I had a sense that these beautiful people tanning themselves in the Spanish sun would be no more, which made me a little sad. So I had to draw them before they’d be gone.

Passers-by watched me while I sketched and said, “You are another Picasso! You draw very well/” I thanked them and admitted that I’d never taken a lesson. My aunt saw my work and said I had talent and should go to Paris. To Paris! Just recently, an art teacher began to give lessons at the temple where I am a client. There, a woman named Laura recommended the class. Laura loved my sketches of Spain and showed them to the art teacher. The art teacher asked me to do a still life. I said, I live in a black-and-white world. She said she would teach me color, which she did.

Jeff Rubin

Leave a Reply

