Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Seeking Happiness

In Guest stories, Love on June 15, 2012 at 11:00 am

All my life I just wanted to be happy. Being happy was a hard thing for me. I tried to find happiness in a lot of different ways. I thought money would make me happy. I never could earn enough money to keep me happy. I thought owning a lot of stuff would make me happy. The more I owned, the more I wanted to own.

I thought pretty women would make me happy. Too much work – some pretty women can be a lot more work than I can handle. (I’ll let the workaholics handle the pretty women.) White collar jobs, pretty sports cars, and nice clothes didn’t help either.

The only thing that brought me real happiness was being a daddy. I had never known this level of happiness until my kids were born. Kids are definitely a blessing. I can still remember holding my firstborn son when he was only three minutes old, and watching my oldest daughter taking her first steps and walking toward me.

Even today, the blessings are still coming. My second-oldest son just got married last week. Thank you, God, for making me a father. Now I know true happiness.

Jeff Brantley

Leave a Reply

