Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

Linda

In Love, Who, where, how? on February 10, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Linda was my first love. I was sixteen years of age, and she was twelve. Knowing that it would have been improper to be with her intimately, with great restraint I settled for hiding behind the stairwell to kiss. Linda was very mature for her age. It was because of Linda that I began to think seriously about my future job security. When Linda’s family moved away a year and a half later, I was heartbroken. I didn’t know where she was. Linda’s personality served for many years as the measuring rule by which I chose my female friends. The big difference was that Linda had initially come on to me. But now it seemed that I had to do the approaching. Even though I had my fair share of female friends, I had told myself that the one I could really fall in love with would be the one who found me or noticed me first.

Because of our age differences we never spoke openly in public. We had it arranged where she called me on the phone, but I could not call her because that would make me suspect. I used to sit on the front stoop and watch her play. She was always the leader of the group. She was intelligent. She was pretty. I just believed that she was all these things naturally. I thought she was too young to be consciously trying to impress me.

I ran into Linda forty-two years later. I was standing on a street corner waiting to cross the street. The meeting was ecstatic. She was divorced, so was I. We dated, had sex. I dropped my guard.

It was Linda who turned me on to cocaine. My life has never been the same.

Donald Mackey

Leave a Reply

