Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

His Face

In Prose, Stories, secrets & dreams, Who, where, how? on February 10, 2012 at 4:48 pm

face

My father was a very loving man. Yet, he was the sternest man I ever knew. He had a big grin, though he seldom grinned. When he did, he seemed to be making up for the times he didn’t. The muscles in his face seemed stretched to the limit.

My dad laughed only at his own jokes. He would roll over laughing, while my sisters, my brother and I all looked at each other. We feigned laughter. I never thought that his jokes were funny at all.

After my father died, I studied the last photograph he’d taken. I discovered that I was really seeing his face for the first time – the warm eyes, the shape of his nose and how shiny it was, the rough line of cheeks from years of shaving, the stern mouth. How peaceful he looked.

by Donald Mackey

Leave a Reply

